Determination on show at Wimpole Hall Cross Country

Year 5 Boys (2)

There was an amazing turnout as over 600 children from South Cambridgeshire schools took part in the South Cambs SSP Year 5 & 6 Cross Country competition which was held at Wimpole Hall estate, Arrington on 3rd December. The event involved an incredible 30 schools with teams varying in size from 6 to 63 runners.

Our School Games Value for this event was ‘DETERMINATION’ and there were many children who showed this during the morning. At the end of the event we handed out three awards for determination these went to the following children:
Leila Fatemi-Ghomi from The Vine Primary and Zoe Biddulph from Linton Heights, both showing great bravery after falling at the start of the race. Tommy Baker from Swavesey also won a determination award for running even though he was recovering from illness; finishing with a huge, proud smile on his face.

There were four separate races, Year 6 girls and boys followed by Year 5 girls and boys with runners completing a distance of 1600metres over a one lap course. The Year 6 girls had to dodge a couple of stubborn cows but they soon moooved (sorry!) out of the way when they saw the Year 6 boys coming. Each race was hotly contested with runners keen to do their best for their school team in pursuit of the School Team Winner Shield for 2015. The top three placed runners in each school team scored for their team but individuals could also enter to compete for one of the top three medal winning positions in each race.

The atmosphere was buzzing as all of the runners were cheered on at the start and finish of the course by fellow pupils, staff and parents that had come to spectate! The individual results were as follows:

Year 5 Boys
1 Ryan Howe – Caldecote Primary School
2 Alfie Lee – Histon and Impington Junior School
3 Alexander Stewart – Cottenham Primary School

Year 5 Boys

Year 5 Girls
1 Lexi Flockhard – Swavesey Primary School
2 Suzannah Aguilar-agon – Burrough Green
3 Nicole Kitooke – Bar Hill
Year 5 Girls

Year 6 Boys
1 Josh Vail – Cottenham Primary School
2 Josh Peyton – Linton Heights Junior School
3 James Hawkins – Caldecote Primary School

Year 6 Boys

Year 6 Girls
1 Aloki Horner – Haslingfield Primary School
2 Isobel Bennet – Thriplow Primary School
3 Melissa Phillips – Bassingbourn Primary School

Year 6 Girls

In the team competition, where the top 3 placed finishers for each school counted, there was no one school that dominated with a different school winning each of the titles.

Year 5 Girls Team Results
1st Burrough Green Primary School
2nd Bar Hill Primary School
3rd Histon and Impington Junior School

Year 5 Boys Team Results
1st Histon and Impington Junior School
2nd Cottenham Primary School
3rd Linton Heights Junior School

Year 6 Girls Team Results
1st Linton Heights Junior School
2nd Bassingbourn Primary School
3rd Jeavons Wood Primary School

Year 6 Boys Team Results
1st Cottenham Primary School
2nd Linton Heights Junior School
3rd Swavesey Primary School

The overall team title was an out and out win for Linton Heights Junior School, they are the proud owners of the title of South Cambs Cross Country Champions for 2015-16. Second place was claimed by Swavesey Primary School and third place was taken by Caldecote Primary School.

The overall team results were as follows (only schools that had entered a team for all four races could qualify for the overall team competition):

1st Linton Heights
2nd Swavesey Primary
3rd Caldecote Primary School

4th The Meadow Primary School
5th Coton Primary School
6th Bar Hill Primary School
7th The Vine Inter Church Primary School
8th Jeavons Wood Primary School
9th Steeple Morden Primary School
10th Harston and Newton Primary School
11th Fenstanton Primary School
12th Elsworth Primary School
13th Fowlmere Primary School
14th Meldreth Primary School
15th Hatton Park Primary School
16th Milton Primary School
17th Girton Glebe Primary School

Other Schools taking part were Barton, Bassingbourn, Burrough Green, Castle Camps, Cottenham, Great Abington, Haslingfield, Histon and Impington Juniors, Oakington, Pendragon, Thriplow and Willingham. Full team results can be downloaded here: Cross Country Team Results 2015

Thanks must go to the Sports Leaders from Bassingbourn Village College and Comberton 6th Form as well as the uniformed services group from Cambridge Regional College. Between them they all did a great job with car parking, marshaling and the finish.

Visit our Facebook page for further photos from the day.


Your browser is out of date. It has security vulnerabilities and may not display all features on this site and other sites.

Please update your browser using one of modern browsers (Google Chrome, Opera, Firefox, IE 10).