Fenstanton & Hilton Primary School defend their tag rugby title in style!


It was an action packed and competitive afternoon at Swavesey Village College as nineteen teams battled it out at the Partnership tag rugby north cluster event. The competition for year 5/6 teams was a qualification round for the Cambridgeshire & Peterborough Sainsbury’s School Games Spring Finals with the top team going through to represent South Cambs at this prestigious event; alongside Steeple Morden Primary, winners of the south cluster event played earlier in the year.

The competition was played in a round robin format with teams playing all of the other schools in their pool before qualifying through to either Division 1, 2, 3 or 4 based on their results in the first section of the competition.

The teams making a strong start and winning through to the top division included reigning champions Fenstanton & Hilton as well as Over, Caldecote and Swavesey and Histon & Impington Juniors.

As expected the second round of matches were much closer with some really competitive play and close score lines creating an exciting atmosphere for the on looking spectators. Fenstanton proved too strong for any opposition though and remained unbeaten throughout the competition. They were made to work hard to retain their title though with the narrowest of victories over Swavesey Primary (6-5) and Histon & Impington Juniors (6-4). In the end and after a total of 70 matches throughout the afternoon Fenstanton & Hilton were crowned champions!

Winners Fenstanton & Hilton Primary School
Winners Fenstanton & Hilton Primary School

New for this year’s competition was a special ‘Spirit of the Games’ award which has been introduced to support the work being done in schools across the Partnership to encourage children to think about the lessons that can be learned through sport and the importance of values such as respect, determination, teamwork, honesty, passion and self-belief; not only in sport but everyday life. The ‘Spirit of the Games’ award therefore recognises the team that has shown good sportsmanship and best demonstrated these sporting values and was judged by the sports leaders and competition organisers.

The winner of this award was Dry Drayton Primary School a team that had played with great determination and displayed great teamwork and respect throughout the competition. Well done to each and every one of the team for being recognised in this way.

Dry Drayton winners of the Spirit of the Games Award.
Dry Drayton winners of the Spirit of the Games Award.

Claire McDonnell, Partnership Manager said, “It was an exciting afternoon of competition and congratulations must go to all of the players and schools that took part. It was nice to see so many different schools represented in the competition, we have had 36 teams take part in our tag rugby events this year which is fantastic.

I must also say a massive thank you to the team of leaders from Swavesey Village College who did an amazing job in officiating the matches and ensuring the event ran smoothly, they showed great initiative and professionalism and were a credit to their school.”

Sports Leaders briefing teams before a match.
Sports Leaders briefing teams before a match.

Fenstanton & Hilton Primary School now go forward to represent South Cambs SSP at the Cambridgeshire and Peterborough School Games Spring Finals on 17th March. They will be joined by Steeple Morden, south cluster winners and Hatton Park and Haslingfield primary schools who qualified in the small schools competition. We wish them all the best of luck!


Full Results

3rdHiston & Impington Juniors A
5thSwavesey A
7thFen Drayton
8thJeavons Wood
9thThe Meadow
10thSwavesey B
12thBar Hill
15thDry Drayton
16thSwavesey C
17thJeavons Wood B
18thHiston & Impington Juniors B
19thFenstanton B


To view more photos from the event visit our Facebook page.


Your browser is out of date. It has security vulnerabilities and may not display all features on this site and other sites.

Please update your browser using one of modern browsers (Google Chrome, Opera, Firefox, IE 10).