Swavesey Primary and Linton Heights take the trophies again

theyre off!

We were pleased that the sun came out for the South Cambs School Sports Partnerships Cross Country competition held at Wimpole Hall Estate on the 28th November. Running conditions were a little muddy underfoot but the course held out for the 800 runners who had come to compete for their school in this annual event.

After the success of last year’s year 3 & 4 competition we decided to run it again but this year to reduce waiting time we ran the girls and boys together. The year 5 & 6 competition was run as separate races for girls and boys giving us a total of six races run over the 1600m, one lap course.

The atmosphere was buzzing as all of the runners were cheered on at the start and finish of the course by fellow pupils, staff and parents that had come to spectate! Each race was hotly contested with runners keen to achieve their personal best and do their bit for the school team in pursuit of either the Year 3/4 or Year 5/6 Team Trophy.

The top three placed runners in each school team scored for their team but individuals could also enter to compete for one of the top three medal winning positions in each race.

In the Year 5/6 team competition Swavesey Primary took the trophy from Linton Heights gaining the title of South Cambs champions, 1st and 3rd positions in both the year 5 boys and girls team competitions helping them to secure success. The second and third overall teams were the same as last year with Histon and Impington Juniors coming second and Cottenham Primary coming third.


The individual results for runners in year 5 & 6 were as follows:

 Year 6 Boys  Year 6 Girls
1st Jack Crisp Histon & Impington Nicole Kitooke Bar Hill
2nd Marcel Corey Linton Heights Rose Green The Meadow
3rd Rupert Tideswell Linton Heights Daisy Garner Cottenham


 Year 5 Boys  Year 5 Girls  
1st Ivan Hristoskov Swavesey Evie Flockhart Swavesey
2nd Lewis Kincaid Histon & Impington Abbie Tod Bar Hill
3rd George Jennings Swavesey Sheila Briginshaw Swavesey


In the Year 3/4 team competition again the top 3 placed finishers for each school counted. This year the younger children from Linton Heights ran superbly to claim the trophy for first place, closely followed by Histon and Impington in second and Swavesey in third.


The individual results for runners in year 3 & 4 were as follows:

 Year 4 Boys  Year 4 Girls  
1st Thomas Richards Swavesey Cressida Hughes Linton
2nd George Harrison Swavesey Ella Watkinson Girton Glebe
3rd Edward Jennings Swavesey Charlotte Storer Histon & Impington


 Year 3 Boys  Year 3 Girls
1st Edward Fuller Willingham Casey Burridge Linton Heights
2nd Finlay Saward Swavesey Imogen Tooley Steeple Morden
3rd Robert Fuller Willingham Imogen Reddish Swavesey


The overall team results were as follows (only schools that had entered a team for all four races could qualify for the overall team competition):

Year 3/4 Team Results Year 5/6 Team Results
1st Linton Heights Swavesey
2nd Histon & Impington Histon & Impington
3rd Swavesey Cottenham
4th Cottenham Linton Heights
5th Bar Hill Bassingbourn
6th Willingham Bar Hill
7th Monkfield Park Waterbeach
8th Caldecote The Meadow
9th The Meadow The Vine
10th Steeple Morden Monkfield Park
11th Bassingbourn Caldecote
12th Jeavons Wood Girton Glebe
13th Fenstanton & Hilton
14th Willingham
15th Steeple Morden
16th Hatton Park

Other schools taking part were Elsworth and Melbourn.


Our School Games Values for this event were ‘Determination’ and ‘Self Belief’ and there were many children who showed these during the morning. This year we asked each school to nominate a child from their school that demonstrated one or both of these. At the end of the event we handed out individual awards to the following children who had shown real determination and/or self belief during the competition:

Sasha William-Movoz – Swavesey Primary

Elizabeth Cvrcek – Histon and Impington Juniors

Isla Overton – Willingham

Liam Place – Caldecote

Evie Reynolds – Fenstanton and Hilton

Lara Middleton – Hatton Park

Henry Bathmaker – Steeple Morden

Edward Pentland – Waterbeach

Amber Zazhanje – Linton Heights

Esther Morris – The Meadow

Dexter Griffin – Melbourn

Annabelle Fairley – Cottenham

Jessica Eaton – Monkfield Park

Ragavan – Bar Hill

Ruth Faulkner – Girton Glebe

Thanks must go to the Sports Leaders from Bassingbourn Village College and Comberton Village College as well as the uniformed services group from Cambridge Regional College and Hoohaah Alison and Harmony who helped us to ensure the smooth running of the event on the day. Also a huge thank you to the National Trust for allowing us to use the beautiful setting that is Wimpole Estate.

You can view further photos on our Facebook page here. 




Your browser is out of date. It has security vulnerabilities and may not display all features on this site and other sites.

Please update your browser using one of modern browsers (Google Chrome, Opera, Firefox, IE 10).